Toulon 2014: Brazil Successfully Retain Festival Crown

Brazil secured their eighth Toulon Festival title with a 5-2 victory over France in Avignon on Sunday.

The Brazilians fielded the same eleven that beat England in their third group game, but went behind early on after Jean-Christophe Bahebeck went down in the box under pressure from Marquinhos to win a penalty. Bahebeck took the spot kick himself, scoring low into the bottom left hand corner beyond Marcos’ outstretched hand.

The French were only ahead for two minutes though as Brazil got back on level terms through a deflected shot by Alisson, which looped over Paul Nardi into the French goal. The frenetic pace of the first half continued as France restored their advantage on the 15 minute mark, again through Bahebeck, who hit a stunning left footed strike into the bottom left hand corner from 25 yards out.

Brazil equalised with a penalty of their own on the half hour, with Ademilson sending Nardi the wrong way following a foul on Thalles right on the edge of the box. The teams finished the first half tied at 2-2.

The Brazilians took the lead in the game for the first time five minutes into the second half from a corner. The South Americans scored three goals from set pieces in their final group game with Qatar, and on this occasion it was Marquinhos who rose highest above everyone else in the six yard box to powerfully head in Lucas Evangelista’s outswinging delivery.

Ademilson scored Brazil’s fourth midway through the second half, again from the penalty spot, before Thalles finished off the scoring 10 minutes from time, neatly controlling a lay-off from Alisson before turning and shooting beyond Nardi.

The result means that Brazil are now undefeated in 10 games at Toulon over the course of the last two years, whilst France will have to wait another year to try and win a competition that they last won in 2007.

After the presentation of the trophy, Brazilian midfielder Rodrigo Caio was named Player of the Tournament following his outstanding performances throughout the competition. He joins the likes of Javier Mascherano, Thierry Henry and Juan Román Riquelme in winning the top award and will now be hoping to join them in representing his country at senior international level at some point in the future.

Elsewhere, the Scout7 John Haynes Trophy for the tournament’s breakthrough player was awarded to Ricardo Horta of Portugal. Horta plays his domestic football for Vitória Setúbal in the Portuguese second division and featured in all five of his nation’s Festival games, scoring three goals including the winner in the third place play-off against England.

The full list of Toulon 2014 award winners is as follows:

Player of the Tournament: Rodrigo Caio (#5 Brazil)
Player of the Tournament Runner Up: Tiémoué Bakayoko (#14 France)
Player of the Tournament Third-Place: James Ward-Prowse (#8 England)
Breakthrough Player(Scout7 John Haynes Trophy): Ricardo Horta (#7 Portugal)
Best Goalkeeper: Paul Nardi (#1 France)
Top Goalscorer: Jean-Christophe Bahebeck (#7 France, 4 goals)
Goal of the Tournament: James Ward-Prowse (#8 England, for his free-kick against Brazil).
Youngest Player to Start the Final: Marcos (#1 Brazil, 18 years, 48 days)
Fair Play Award: South Korea

All match information from Toulon 2014 is available now through Scout7’s IntelligentSports Framework (ISF) and ProScout7, whilst full match video from every game, including tagged player events, is available now in

Ricardo Horta, winner of the 2014 John Haynes Trophy, with Scout7’s Jerome Lebatard

by Pierre Michaud France Business Development

Published 01 June 2014